About Gesac


Permanent Staff


Working Groups


# Mission

  • Advocate for adequate remuneration for creators, especially online
  • Ensure a sustainable creative and cultural ecosystem
  • Promote collective management as the best solution to respect and protect authors’ rights

Read more about our positions and our activities

# Functioning

  • Permanent Staff: a staff of 6 people work permanently in Brussels on monitoring EU matters, raising awareness on specific issues with EU decision makers and coordinating common efforts by member societies.
  • The Board: appointed for 2 year terms, it is made up of 9 member society CEOs and convenes at least 4 times a year. GESAC is currently presided by Christophe Depreter, CEO of Sabam (Belgium) for a two year period. The Vice-Presidents are Robbert Ashcroft of PRS (UK), Anders Lassen of Koda (Denmark), and Jean-Noël Tronc of Sacem (France).
  • The Madrid Group (legal committee): this group, first convened in Madrid in 1992, elaborates legal positions of current affairs. It gathers the legal heads of department of each member society and meets on a regular basis in Brussels. The Madrid Group’s chair is Dr. Tobias Holzmüller of GEMA (Germany) and its Vice-chair is Adriana Moscoso from SGAE (Spain). They were elected for a two year term.
  • The Public Affairs Committee (PAC): meeting on a regular basis in Brussels, the PAC supports the board in determining the advocacy course of actions. It is chaired by Héloïse Fontanel from Sacem (France) and its Vice-Chair is Robbert Baruch from Buma (the Netherlands). They were elected for a two year term.
  • The Communications Committee (ComCom): this committee consists of the members’ heads of the Communication department and convenes up to twice a year in a different country each time to share best practices and exchange experiences. The Local Communications Committee has a rotating Presidency, as the hosting country takes on that role.